Diary of a Powerlifter 5

Sometimes life has a way of smacking you square in the face! That is exactly what happened to me at the beginning of last week as I took a trip to A&E with a dislocated shoulder! Thankfully my injury appears to be on the less serious end of the scale as there is no bone damage or muscle tears. However, the muscles around my shoulder have been weakened and need a lot of work to stabalise and re-strengthen them. Yes! It sucks! It just sucks to think that everything can change in an instant – one minute I’m happy out training towards the Euro’s…the next – my arm is hanging off. Has everything I’ve worked so hard for over the last few months been for nothing? I am completely out of the running now! I have to be! There’s no way I can possibly get back to where I was in just 8 weeks! I am angry, devastated, disappointed, frustrated and crushed all at the same time! I can’t lift! To make things worse, I haven’t been able to work as I’ve been in a sling. This couldn’t have come at a worse time as I had only completed 1 day in a new job when the injury occurred. Not the best start! I suppose I can be thankful though that the weather has been fantastic and I’ve been able to get out and about for walks and just get out of the house for a bit as I would have cracked up otherwise. Probably the biggest positive from the last week is that I have been able to catch up with friends over lunch everyday. I’m sure, however, I’ve piled on a few pounds as a result! I could just give up now and sit in the corner and huff and puff, be mad, eat ice cream, and be depressed about the situation but where will that get me? The reality is that this is a bump in the road…a setback —one I will overcome and from which I will return stronger than ever. Between not being able to work or go to the gym, however, I was fed-up – both mentally and physically! I couldn’t see me being back in the gym anytime in the immediate future but thanks to Max I was back training legs in under a week. It’s not a lot but I’m happy just to be doing something and it’s keeping me sane until I can start some rehab. Max has arranged an appointment for me with a sports injury therapist, for which I am extremely grateful. Hopefully it will be positive news and we will be able to get the ball rolling for a possible shot at competing in the Euro’s…They are only 8 weeks away, but I’m hopeful. I have to be! I’m definitely not giving up! I can’t! Due to the nature of my injury, I have had to accept that I will not be able compete in Benchpress, so I now have to focus all my energy into doing everything I possibly can to compete in Deadlift! I believe, with help and support from Max, Orla and all the gang at the gym, I can turn this situation around. It’s just a matter of figuring out what I can do without pushing myself too hard and risking re-injury. It will take a ton of mental discipline to keep myself from over-doing it and I’m sure it won’t all be plain sailing but I believe I can come back from this. The road to recovery begins here!

Leave a Reply

