Diary of a Powerlifter 7

My rehab involves more than just stretching. It’s been almost 5 weeks now since I dislocated my shoulder. I’m at the halfway mark between the injury and the Euros and I’m feeling positive about my recovery. It took just 3 weeks to get back deadlifting again after being basically told I could forget about competing in the Euros! With just a few sessions under my belt, I’m fairly happy with how training is going. It feels good to be back lifting triple digits for reps. Although I am not where I want to be, by any means, I am happy with how far I’ve come in such a short space of time and things are looking promising; will I be where I want to be in 5 weeks time? With my rigorous rehab program and progress so far it will surely be in sight at least!

Being told that I wouldn’t be able to compete in bench was hard to take but as soon as there was a glimmer of hope I was determined that I was going to give it my best shot. Thursday saw me do my first benching session, just four and half weeks since the dislocation. I was delighted with how it went and it renewed my spirits and has made me even more determined to do everything I possibly can to be in with a shout in bench as well.

Patience has never been one of my strong points but we’ve had to get re-acquainted fairly quickly because I’m going to do whatever is necessary to get to the Euros, even if that means slowing things down when I feel capable of doing more. There may be some truth in the saying “less is more” after all. I would be lying, however, if I said I haven’t been tempted to do more than I should in the belief that it will speed up my recovery. Because of this, I have to constantly remind myself that doing so could end in disaster and to just follow my rehab program to the tee – to do no more and no less!

I have focused all my energy on my rehab and let everything else fall into place. This has really helped me progress over the last few weeks. The problem though is that rehab is boring, tiring and monotonous – in other words, it gets old fast! Everyday life can get in the way when it comes to doing my physio and I sometimes find it hard to fit in all the rehab exercises, due to both a lack of time and energy, but I don’t let myself go to bed until they are done. On the flip side though, the Euros are keeping me motivated during my recovery and give me something to work towards and pushes me through when the countless stretches become too monotonous.

My rehab involves more than just stretching though. I am having dry needling and cupping sessions too. I’m not going to pretend that I really understand fully how either of these work – but they do work…I just lie there while Niall uses me as his pin cushion and I let Orla suction the bejaysus out of my shoulder, safe in the knowledge that they are both helping my recovery…probably more than I realise!

Max has also been busy working with me on the training side of things and has given me a rigorous program to follow. It involves deficit deadlifts, benchpress and lots of hard work. I’m looking forward to executing it over the coming weeks and to getting stronger in the run up to the Euros.

Leave a Reply

