Diary of a Powerlifter 8

So, we are almost at the end of this long lifting cycle. Euros are coming closer and we have only two more training weeks left. My diet is going very good and body weight is around 76kg. Last week we tested our strength to see where we are on our way to the competition. My deadlift was 217,5kg and bench was 122,5kg, unfortunately that means I got a bit weakerL. I know it is just 2,5kg but when it comes to lifting you always want more. But on the other side I am around 5kg lighter than at my last strength test. I am not super happy about it but it is still good and I am ok with it. My body is in good condition and I can’t wait to lift on the platform again.
The plan for the remaining time is to lose the last kg for my weight division and not to get any weaker. The training is fully focused on the competition and for the main exercises I am doing doubles and singles with 90 or 95 percent. The rest of the cycle is just a little bit accessory work and that’s it.
I am really looking forward to the competition in July; it is not just a chance to lift the best you can and see some great lifters. It is also the end of an extraordinary long training cycle. My cycle was 18 weeks long with a hundred percent focus on competition day. I never ever had such a long training plan. Don’t get me wrong, I like doing it. But at some point you need to try something else or train maybe a bit more spontaneous and change exercises if you want to.
Anyway, I wish you all a good time for the last training weeks and hope to see you all at the Euros. Train hard but don’t get injured okay. And I will do the same.

One Comment Add yours

  1. adampulman says:

    Hope the last couple of weeks run to plan and best of luck at the Euros!

    Like

Leave a Reply

